Baltimore Accident Attorneys Advocate for Injured Workers
Maryland Injury Firm Focuses on Workers’ Compensation Cases
If you’ve been injured at work, workers’ compensation will take care of you and there is no need to hire an attorney, right?
Under workers’ compensation law, benefits are generally available to a worker who is injured on the job, but benefits are not automatic. While hiring an attorney might seem unnecessary, Maryland workers’ compensation law is relatively complicated and legal expertise may be required to ensure your eligibility for benefits. Here are some of the things a Maryland workers compensation attorney can help you with:
Determining Your Eligibility
Generally, if your employer has one or more employees and you are not part of a class of employees that may be excluded from workers’ compensation coverage in Maryland, you will have access to workers’ compensation benefits. Although proof of fault is not required, to be eligible for benefits you will need to establish that the injury occurred on the job and is connected somehow with the work performed.
Many workers may not be aware that the Maryland Insurance Administration recently approved temporary workers’ compensation rule changes to allow for the exclusion of payroll for workers who are not performing employment functions but are still on the employer’s payroll. The rule changes are in affect through December 2020 but could be extended pending further developments related to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Preparing and Filing a Claim
Workers’ compensation will pay for medical care, rehabilitation, and some wage replacement if you have to miss work because of your injury, but to obtain these benefits, you’ll have to file your claim and follow procedures carefully. The following steps are required to file a workers’ compensation claim in Maryland:
- Injured employees must notify their employers of their injury orally or in writing within 10 days. If the employee dies due to the injury, the family has 30 days to provide notification. If the employee contracts a disease, they or their family have one year from the date the disease is discovered to advise the employer.
- The employee must file Employee Claim Form C-1 and a physician’s report, if possible, within 60 days. For injuries resulting in death, the family has 18 months to file the report, and in the case of an occupational disease, the employee or family must file within two years.
Under Maryland law, injured workers have a right to choose their medical treatment provider, and is not required to receive treatment with a health care provider that their employer or the employer’s insurance company selects.
Guide You Through the Appeals Process – if Necessary
If the workers’ compensation carrier decides that you have not met the eligibility requirements to receive benefits, you may have to provide additional documentation or file a formal appeal, something an experienced Maryland workers’ compensation attorney can help you with. If you fail to follow the rules, you could be denied benefits.
If you do not qualify for workers’ compensation benefits, you might be able to apply for Social Security Disability or file a personal injury claim to obtain compensation for your injury, something an attorney can also assist you with.
Contact a Competent Maryland Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
Are you looking for competent legal counsel to assist you with your Maryland workers’ compensation claim? Contact Collins Legal Group, LLC, at 410-462-4529 to set up your initial consultation with a skilled attorney today.