Baltimore Personal Injury Firm Helps Accident Victims
Maryland Injury Lawyers Have the Answers You Need
If you suffered a personal injury in Maryland, here are answers to some common questions you might have:
I was just injured in an accident - what should I do next?
You should take the following steps after an accident:
- Call the police.
- Get medical treatment (even if you don’t think you were injured).
- Contact your insurer to report the accident.
- Gather information from other involved parties.
- Take pictures of the accident scene and your injuries.
- Look for a Maryland attorney experienced in personal injury cases.
- Never admit fault or sign anything until you obtain legal advice.
If I was in an accident and the at-fault driver left the scene, is there any way I can recover damages for my injuries?
Under Maryland law, drivers are required to purchase uninsured/underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist bodily injury liability insurance coverage of at least $30,000 in damages per person/$60,000 per accident. In circumstances where an at-fault driver leaves the scene or does not have liability insurance, you can pursue a UM/UIM claim with your own insurance company to recover damages.
Does Maryland have laws that relate specifically to personal injury?
Maryland has a number of laws that relate to personal injury, such as:
- The state’s statute of limitations for filing a personal injury case against someone who has caused an injury is three years from the date of the accident.
- Maryland is one of only four “pure contributory negligence” states (along with Virginia, Alabama, North Carolina, and the District of Columbia). In these states, if an injury victim is responsible for their injuries (even to a very slight degree), they are not entitled to any compensation for their damages.
- A person is believed to have “assumed the risk of injury” If they have full knowledge and understanding of an existing danger and voluntarily expose themselves to it. If assumption of risk can be proven, the injured person may be barred from recovery.
If I was a passenger in a vehicle that was in an accident, can I sue the driver?
If you are a passenger in a vehicle and the driver caused a crash due to negligence or carelessness, you have a right to sue the driver, and if you are successful, his insurance company might be required to compensate you for your damages.
What damages are available in a personal injury case?
You could be eligible for a variety of damages, such as:
- Economic damages like property damage, medical bills (present and future), lost income, and reduced earning capacity.
- Non-economic damages including pain and suffering, emotional anguish, and loss of enjoyment of life.
- Punitive (exemplary) damages intended to punish the at-fault party for especially egregious behavior.
Who will pay my accident-related medical bills?
According to the Maryland Insurance Administration, personal injury protection (PIP) and Medical payments coverage (MedPay) will both pay for immediate and necessary medical treatment following a motor vehicle accident. Your health insurance coverage will usually, but not always, pick up when those coverages are exhausted.
- Medical Payments Coverage (MedPay), which is optional in Maryland, will pay for your accident-related medical bills – as well as those of your passengers –up front, with no deductibles or co-pays, up to the limits of the coverage.
- Personal injury protection (PIP) is a no-fault insurance policy offered by insurance companies authorized to do business in Maryland. Although PIP coverage can be declined, the waiver must be in writing and compliant with Maryland automobile insurance laws. PIP pays for your reasonable medical expenses, up to 85 percent of your lost wages, and household services up to the policy limits, regardless of who was at fault for the accident.
How long will it take to settle my claim?
The time it takes to settle a personal injury case is impossible to predict, particularly if the case is complex or liability is unclear. If a fair settlement cannot be reached, your case may proceed to trial.
How do I know whether or not I have a case?
You will not have to make this determination on your own. You should contact a personal injury attorney and set up a free initial consultation to discuss your situation. The attorney will be able to offer you information based on the facts of your case, such as who you can sue and how long you have to file your case in court.
How much will it cost me to get legal representation in a Maryland personal injury claim?
Most Maryland personal injury attorneys, including Collins Legal Group, LLC, offer a free initial consultation and will handle your case on a contingency basis, meaning you will not have to pay any fees unless you receive a reward for your injuries.
Contact a Knowledgeable Baltimore Premises Liability Law Firm
The mission of the professionals at Collins Legal Group, LLC, is to help those who have been injured due to someone else’s negligence. If you sustained an injury and have questions about a potential legal claim, call us at 410-462-4529 to schedule your free initial consultation today.